Not Going Out Like That

Tastiest Turkey Meatloaf EVER !

1 Comment

When I moved to LA, a good friend of mine was working at The Newsroom Cafe on Robertson Blvd and I would go eat at the bar every now and then when he was working. One of the menu items I became obsessed with is the Asian Persuasion Turkey Meatloaf. For years, I have tried different recipes for turkey meatloaf but it never came close to the Newsroom version. Finally, with some help from a former colleague who managed that restaurant and my own experience with so many meatloaf variations, I was able to figure out a version of this recipe that definitely comes close and NEVER disappoints. At this point, I make a three-pound batch of the turkey meat mixture, cook half and store half so I can just defrost and pop into the oven a week or two later. It requires a few ingredients that you may have to go out and shop for (so I am breaking my own rule of working with ingredients that you would normally have in your pantry) but when it comes to this recipe it is totally worth it as you will find yourself making this again and again.

asian persuasion turkey-meatloaf

Here is what you will need:

  •  1.5 lbs of ground turkey meat, 10-15% fat minimum
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp of red chile paste (you can adjust based on your preference for spice or use a milder chile sauce)
  • 2 tablespoons of sesame oil
  • 3-4 tablespoons of soy sauce (adjust to taste)
  • 3-4 sprigs of green onions, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • half of a small ginger root, peeled, then finely chopped or grated
  • 1/2 cup of cilantro chopped

Pre-heat oven to 375. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Lightly oil a loaf pan, and 1/2 or 2/3 of the way with meat loaf mix. Bake for 40 minutes, let cool for 10 minutes before removing or slicing. You can also top the meatloaf with a layer of ketchup about 10-15 minutes before the meatloaf is ready and allow it to continue to cook.

Serve with spicy ketchup by combining hot sauce or siracha with ketchup. I don’t use chile paste for the turkey meatloaf myself because it’s a little too spicy for my kids.

Now eat … YUMMY ! Let me know how your’s turns out.

One thought on “Tastiest Turkey Meatloaf EVER !

Leave a Reply

