Not Going Out Like That

DIY – Turn Your Straight Leg Jeans into Boyfriend or Skinnies

2 Comments

This past Saturday was a long and rainy day in LA and I decided to take a pair of camo jeans I had from a few years ago and try to taper them into a boyfriend cut (which is a little lose in the knee but narrow and rolled at the bottom.) Here is a picture of what the jeans looked like before.

For this project, I used a Micro Stitch kit I bought on Amazon for about $20, a ruler and a Sharpie.

I then marked the bottom, near the hem, to be one inch in from the inside of the interior hem. Meaning the hem that would normally run on the inside of your leg, and is less visible. You can see I turned the jeans inside out to do this and use the sharpie to make the marking.

I decided to start the narrowing about 11 inches up the side of the leg of the jeans. This totally depends on what length you are starting with, your height and the look you are trying to achieve. In this case, I wanted more of a boyfriend jean so I started the narrowing a few inches below my knee. If you want a skinny jean look, you might want to star the narrowing higher up on the leg and make it a bit more gradual.

After marking the 1 inch off the bottom, and the spot where I would begin to narrow the jeans, I drew a line on a diagonal to mark where I would stitch.

After that, I just used the Micro Stitch to follow the marked line, which took all of about 5 minutes per leg. I rolled the bottom of the jeans a few times to achieve the boyfriend look and voila !

If your version of this does not turn out the way you had hoped, it’s really easy to remove the stitches with no damage to the jeans. I would definitely start on a less favorite pair of jeans or item of clothing and avoid cutting fabric as that is irreversible.

2 thoughts on “DIY – Turn Your Straight Leg Jeans into Boyfriend or Skinnies

  1. You did such a great job at alterating this!

    xo, tasha
    Enter to win a monogram pendant necklace

Leave a Reply

