Not Going Out Like That

Gone Girl

3 Comments

If you’re a reader, then you have probably heard of the book ‘Gone Girl’ by Jillian Flynn. The story begins on a couple’s fifth wedding anniversary, but when Nick, the husband comes home, he finds his wife gone and the case for him to be the main suspect quickly builds. The first part of the book is written in alternating form with one chapter told from the perspective of the husband and the other chapter being a diary entry from Amy, his wife. I found this to be a little slow at first but it helps to build the characters and ends up being integral to the mystery. The middle of the book is a nailbiting page turner and I couldn’t wait to climb into bed at night and start reading. The ending is surprising, and neither happy, nor sad. It leaves the door open for a number of scenarios.

Some reviewers on Amazon complained that they did not like either of the main characters, but I found myself rooting for one of them despite the bad choices made by that person. My only complaint is that the last part of the book almost seemed like another, separate story. I was ready for it to be tied up and done a little sooner.

If you have time, check out the book for yourself. There are nearly 4,000 reviews on Amazon, so go there if you want a little more on the story before getting the book. Enjoy !

3 thoughts on “Gone Girl

  1. I have read Glass Castle-loved, midnight in the garden of good & evil-loved The others I don’t think I have. Will check them out. Thanks!

  2. @Chrissy – Have you read The Glass Castle ? Amazing book. Also LOVED The Tender Bar by JR Moehringer. The Forgotten Garden was pretty good. Going back many years … Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil is a great book and made me want to go to Savannah. Valley of the Dolls is one of my favorite books of all time. As well as the abridged version of Les Miserables.

  3. I finally finished reading this and loved it. I didn’t hate the ending as most did and actually wasn’t surprised either. I also read What Amy forgot Faith on your recommendation. Loved both. What should I read next? 🙂

Leave a Reply

