Not Going Out Like That

Houndstooth & Stripes – Mixing Patterns

1 Comment

The weather in LA finally cooled down last week, so I dug up a vintage houndstooth wrap jacket I have had for a few years and mixed it with a striped top and animal print flats. I have always loved mixing patterns but I am especially obsessed with it this Fall, so this will not be my only post on mixing houndstooth with stripes or mixing patterns in general.

I threw on my houndstooth jacket with an H&M striped boatneck top I had, and added cheetah print flats to add one more layer of pattern to the look. Keeping accessories, hair and make up pretty simple, with a dash of red brought in by my red Furla tote.

houndstooth wrap jacket, mixing patterns, mixing houndstooth and stripes

I am also falling back in lovr with pins & brooches so I added this vintage brass snake pin that I bought years ago at the Melrose Trading Post fleamarket in LA.

houndstooth and stripes, snake brooch, snake pin, brown and black houndstooth

The new signet pinky ring is by Sara Chloe and was a gift from my husband, with my kids initials engraved on the ring. I had a lot of trouble finding a signet ring small enough to wear on my pinky and was delighted when I tracked down Sara Chloe’s site.

leopard print flats, cheetah print flats, animal print flats with jeans and red purse, red furla handbag, red handbag, houndstooth and animal print

The animal print flats are really comfy and have a really cool leather and stud detail on the back that you can’t see in the picture above but you can check out up close here. Dig around in your closet and see if you already own some stripes, animal print or houndstooth that can be paired and mixed together !

Jacket: vintage (similar here)

Shirt: H&M

Jeans: Lucky Brand

Shoes: Steven by Steve Madden (here)

Handbag: Furla (here)

Pinky Ring: Sara Chloe Jewelry (here)

One thought on “Houndstooth & Stripes – Mixing Patterns

  1. Pingback: Quilted Leopard – Two Ways « Not Going Out Like That

Leave a Reply

