Not Going Out Like That

Spaghetti Squash

Leave a comment

I cook 5-6 times a week and somehow I had not heard of spaghetti squash until about a year ago. I picked up said squash at the store a few days ago (luckily it was labeled, or I would have not even known I was looking at spaghetti squash ) and decided to try it out. The recipe I found on-line said to cut the squash in half and place face down in a baking dish like a Pyrex. Reading the reviews, one person suggested pouring a bit of water into the dish to  help the squash stay moist. So I did just that – I halved the squash, poured in about 1-2 cups of water and a few tablespoons of olive oil.

how to cook spaghetti squash

Next I pre-heated the oven to about 375. The recipe said 30 minutes on 350 but I think my oven is not properly calibrated because I often find I have to cook the food longer than the recipe recommendation. I popped it in, and waited. In the meantime I started working on my sauce. The recipe I found on-line said to saute onions till they soften, then add in fresh garlic, and cherry tomatoes. I had only one of those ingredients. I had the cherry tomatoes but no fresh onion or garlic (gasp!)

So I decided to use Trader Joe’s garlic and basil cubes, which look like this and are sold in the freezer section at your local TJ’s.

spaghetti squash with garlic and basil

I then halved the tomatoes, poured in a good amount of oil and two cubes each of garlic and basil. I turned the heat to low and let the tomatoes soften for 10-15 minutes.

simple tomatoe sauce

Once the tomatoes had soften, I used a wood spoon to smash them into the olive oil sauce.

simple tomatoe sauce

Back to the squash – after 30 minutes you are supposed to be able to stick a knife into the squash so there is some resistance but it cuts in without much force. This is when I decided I needed 10 more minutes. So in all I cooked it for 40 minutes around 350-375. Depending on the size, you may need to cook it less or longer. When it came out and I flipped it over, this is what it looked like.

spaghetti squash recipe

What the on-line recipe forgot to mention is that I should have scooped out the seeds before cooking. Once I did that, I used a large serving fork to scrape the squash out with ease, and as I did it, it looked like this.

easy spaghetti squash recipe

I then simply scooped it out, placed in a bowl with a large spoonfull of the sauce on top and voila ! A hearty tasting but carb lite meal that is about 15 minutes of hands on time and can be prepared within 40 minutes.

spaghetti squash recipe with tomatoe sauce

Leave a Reply

