Not Going Out Like That

Flowers That Last

1 Comment

A few years ago I decided I was going to always have fresh flowers in my house. When I was younger I was either on a budget and it felt too much like a splurge or I didn’t know enough about flowers and couldn’t keep them alive more than 2-3 days. I learned a lot about flowers when planning my wedding and since then have figured out which flowers last the longest and how to make them last. Here are some of my suggestions …

I bought these mini calla lilies at Trader Joe’s for $7.99. It was over 15 stems so I had enough to place a vase on my dining table and another small bud vase on my entryway table. Calla lilies look elegant on their own, in a single color, and last for at least a week.

Because the stems are clean and long, I like to display them in a taller glass vase and cut them so they are pretty much flush with the top of the vase.

Here is how they look with just 4-5 stems in a small bud like vase. I placed these on my entryway table so I can see them and my guests can see them as they enter the house.

Roses also look great and last for a week. Remember to change the water as often as you can. Either every day or every other day to help them last. I bought 7 stems for $4.99 at Trader Joe’s and set them on my coffee table in the living room.

I cleaned all the leaves off the rose stems and left just a few of the decorative leaves that came with the flowers. Again, a clean look and cut so the flower is flush with the top of the vase.

Other flowers that last a week are Gerber Daisies, Sunflowers, and most wildflowers. I am not a fan of Casablanca lilies because you have to clean off the stamen or it creates a mess on your table. I LOVE Dahlia’s but they are very delicated and wilt after 2 days.

I spent $13 on the flowers pictured here and they will adorn 3 rooms in my house and last about a week. Well worth the investment if you enjoy having fresh flowers in your home !

Here are some other suggestions to help your cut flowers last:

– Put half an aspirin or some sugar in the water to perk them up after a few days

– Cutting flowers shorter and placing in a short vase helps keep them alive because the water has less stem to travel up to reach the bloom.

– Use lukewarm water instead of cold water.

– Change water often as stated above.

– Keep them vase in a cooler spot, out of direct sunlight.

One thought on “Flowers That Last

  1. Pingback: More Flowers That Last « Not Going Out Like That

Leave a Reply

